What is it like to be an atheist?

Black Atheists

What is it like to be an atheist?

It’s trying. I was raised in a Christian home – Baptist. I was forced to go to church and was beaten if I didn’t. I was beaten if I questioned it, too. My son and I are treated like Satan’s offspring because of it. My atheism has kept my family from helping him when he I needed help. He needed medicine and they told me that if I wasn’t an atheist, I wouldn’t have problems getting his medicine. I fell on hard times and I just needed a little help. These same family members then kicked me and my son out of their home because of it. They still belittle me to this day. It doesn’t help that I’m black. Not a lot of black atheists these days – let alone a black woman atheist. So, here I am black, bisexual, a…

View original post 809 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What you think about this?

